What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Low Winter Sun

The sun came out properly for the first time in a couple of weeks today, I suspect it'll be back to grey skies tomorrow. Took a quick bike ride into Cambridge centre to pick up my notebook (not helpful to NaNo leaving it in town, though I did break past 5K yesterday, which was nice) and stopped off on Parker's Piece to take a few snaps. Lots of other people were taking advantage of the weather as well - there was walkers, cyclists, footballers, American footballers, dogs, cats - everything!

Possibly my favourite thing was the crossed jetstreams overhead, there must have been a dozen flights over the city this morning because the air was criss-crossed with them. That, and the lens flare - I am very much into the J.J. Abrams / Joss Whedon vein of using light in a very direct and devil-may-care way* - things just look better if you see them the way they are. And given the grey, bleak Winter times ahead, I'll take the light any way I can!

Also, I backblipped! - Beware! Here there be Monsters!


*note that in the Joss Whedon case, credit goes to David Boyd, the director of photography on Firefly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.