Golden Rise

I was sure there would be no sunrise today, it was dark as I rose and no stars or moon could be seen. I sat with a cuppa pondering on our day ahead, it would be a busy and exciting one. The birds started to sing as I peeked out of the curtains and there was the start of a magnificent sunrise. Without delay I threw on my coat, pulled on my shoes, picked up my camera and bag and headed out to the car.

The road was quiet with the odd family of mallards shuffling their families across the dark road before it got busy. There was not a hint of mist across the farms, so clear and crisp but ahead of me the sky glowed with a vibrant pink lighting the clouds, leaving me wondering if I would make it in time. I turned down a country lane, passed through a sleeping little settlement and parked the car. The roar of the sea could be heard as I tramped over the sanddunes and there it was - this is what I saw!

I lingered and watched at 5.54am as the sun rose higher into the sky, this is the last stage before the way was clear to blue sky - A vibrant pink and golden sunrise, a sunrise with so many progressions - I savoured every minute. There was no wind, the sea was calm and I was warm.

I then returned home for breakfast and had a wander round the garden with a cuppa in hand. Birds were feeding their young ones and cats were sitting on the fence enjoying a little sunshine.

The exciting part of the day was picking Daugher A up from the airport - its sooo good to see her, have her home for a few days and enjoy her company, its been a while this time and we were all disappointed she will only be home at Christmas for two days, so this little trip will be well treasured.

I'll head away now and grab a cuppa and then I'll be back to take a peek at your journals :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.