Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Back in the gym

Monday morning and back in the gym after a five month gap. It shouldn't have been so long but the absence coincided with the council's decision to close the road on my normal route to the gym and that meant a big detour. The bridge reopened about three weeks ago and that's how long it has taken me to summon up the sinews.

The sinews were barely functioning this morning in the gym which resembles a hall of mirrors. Why all the mirrors? I don't want to look at myself on the weights. I'd forgotten a lot of the gym stuff, such as the need to take earphones to try and reduce the boredom.

After such a long lay off I decided it would be unwise to go at it too strenuously, so I wore my Mora Mora tee-shirt. That means slowly slowly in Malagasy.

Out of the window I could see an aerobics class on the main gym floor. There must have been about 40-odd women and one man who was doing his dance steps just a little bit too flamboyantly for my liking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.