Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Malt Whisky

A funny day, more the sum of its parts. A man called me this morning and asked me if he could show me some fishing reels - today. Fine, I said. He was coming all the way from Norfolk so I got to thinking that all those fishing reels out on the table might make a nice blip.

Then the sun shone and I went in to the garden and the trees looked nice in the sunshine so I took a few photographs and then I thought, that's the blip for today. So the man came - he's an auctioneer and wanted some advice on the reels. I write about fishing and people sometimes ask me these things.

I thought about a photograph but I'd laid out a flowery tablecloth which wasn't ideal, so left the camera to one side and then regretted it when I uploaded the trees as they didn't look very special. The reels, on the other hand, were pretty special, all made by Hardy Brothers. You should have seen them (damn). They looked like this.

So I made a lamb korma (for tomorrow, today was Cullen Skink) and decided to go for a glass of lager for the blip. I'd been thinking about this glass of lager for a day or two. But I hadn't put a bottle in the fridge and I wanted it to be cold. I put one in the freezer for speed. There's a risk in this as in the past I've forgotten about the quick chill bottle, only to find the cap blown off and frozen lager spilled around.

But I didn't forget and, in time, I photographed the glass of lager and it looked OK, but only OK. So I poured this stiff whisky in to some cut glass to get.... well to get this. I wasn't entirely happy with this either so experimented with a red bottle opener that has a head with sticky up ears like a cat and a big smile. That produced a slightly amusing image, but only slightly.

I've drunk the lager now I'm going to drink the whisky. Not an entirely perfect day for the camera then, but this blipping has its compensations. Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.