Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Not quite Narnia

It was Oscar Wilde who once wrote: "I was working on the proof of one of my poems all the morning, and took out a comma. In the afternoon I put it back again." After the day I've had I'd call that an achievement.

I spent ages this morning getting rid of old emails from my gmail account, all to avoid paying for extra storage that costs less than £5 a year. It would have been more cost effective to pay the money.

Then I had to fill out a form: one of those that requires two passport-style photographs. It's ironic that I take pictures every day yet I cannot produce a couple of printed mug shots for a form. When you go to those booths they usually take four pictures, so you use two and save two. I know I had such pictures knocking about, but where, God only knows. A good rummage produced one of a fresh faced youth aged about 21. I don't think so!

So I went to the booth in town again, came back, used the two required photographs and filed the other two in forgotten drawer, part of far away cupboard situated in never never room. Perhaps I was thinking of hidden places in wardrobes when I blipped this Narnia lamp post not far from my house. Sadly, there was no Mr Tumnus.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.