Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

A Reminder

A self indulgent note to self follows just to remind me that there are good things in life as well as shite things like today contained, so...

A Quick History Of Me

Part One

I went to a comprehensive boarding school (a free school) that was one of only three at the time that recognised dyslexia and had a unit for us. Aged 16 I got the exact average number of exams thanks to the special help and because I got 5 O'levels I was apparently cured, yee-sodding-haa, so my reason for being there was gone and they kicked me out. So I moved schools to try my luck with A'levels (college level exams). That didn't go at all well (dyslexic = "ahhh, I see, one of those") however at this unremarkable school I met some remarkable people. That was back in 1987 and this weekend four of them are swinging by my adoptive home town of Copenhagen for a day on the lash of sightseeing and culture. This may sound slightly unremarkable as I have been here ten years now but you gota' give these guys a break. From my little, nowhere town Nick, Steve, Rhod & Ben are arriving from Australia, Dubai, Stockholm and .... Bristol. Now that's cool.

Part Two


With no qualifications worth the paper they never got printed on, the only course for me was obvious - sales. Starting in a warehouse for a stationery wholesaler I tried the trade counter, the telephones, a borrowed company car and finally my own "sales executive" business cards. This led to being headhunted to Casio ("sales development executive"), creating my own (unsuccessful) company but getting headhunted again (in the nick of time) then getting screwed for a few thousand pounds. Killing a career slowly over the next two years led to my impromptu season in Greece (see my September Blips if you missed it) where I met my current girlfriend on 11/09/01 (911 a date I won't forget), she's a Dane - hence Denmark today. Not bad for a summer romance.

Today I work in a warehouse - "what goes around comes around"

We never put a padlock on this bridge, I really don't think we need to.

Sorry for boring you but for a reason I will explain in a week or so, I needed that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.