Just off the bus

Back home from Tuesday football. And for the first time in weeks, straight home and not to Hamlet rehearsals at Buccleuch. It feels a bit strange. Yesterday was our graduation at the Usher Hall. We were the last people to graduate, after all the HNCs, and the HNDs and the Diplomas. And we got doffed on the head from the Pro Vice-Chancellor from Abertay Uni, who were actually awarding the degree, even although we did it all at Stevenson. As we were lined up waiting to walk on, following the music students who also got BAs from Abertay, it was quite touching that Morag, head of Creative Studies, had to take a minute or two to compose herself before reading out the first names - clearly the first degrees awarded to Stevenson students was just as much a moment for her as it was for us. My parents and L were both there to see what will surely be the end of my academic studies. Afterwards I went for a couple of drinks across the road with a few fellow students and some of our tutors. Today did a bit of a stock-take of how I have been doing in building my business and with L's help came up with a few new ideas to try and take things forward more profitably. It is too easy to be seduced into thinking I am being a photographer just because I am taking pictures. Maybe I am, but to be a professional photographer I need to get paid to take pictures much more of the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.