Security Futility...

I always thought that computer security at our work was a bit futile. Granted, you can't just leave the door open, but some measures just seem rather draconian and really if anyone was interested in getting information out, I'm sure they could quite easily find a way.

For instance, one measure put in place was to block usage of USB memory sticks in the PCs. Thought being that you could load data onto a memory stick and walk out the door with it. Internet speeds mean you can email data even faster than it takes to fish the memory stick out the bottom of your bag.

I came across a rather laughable take on security the other day. I ran a report for some one that is on holiday and their whom failing gets the emailed output of the files. It was some report about emails going out the company. I just copied myself onto the output as well so as I knew when it had run and that it had indeed run. The recipient noticed that I was copied in on the email and asked me to take myself off the email!?! I didn't have much interest in the report before but maybe I should actually look at the report that I created for them?

------------------------------------------

Notes on the Picture...
I don't know why I didn't notice this view in the 11 or so years I've been using this bridge. The old castle flanked on either side by the new-ish behemoth financial sector buildings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.