Telecommunication Quantum Shift...

We were taking a walk up to the shop yesterday when Bethany asked me...
"What's that daddy?"
"That, is a phone box. We might not have them when you're a big girl."
"What does it do daddy?"

I didn't have any change so I vowed that it would become our secret mission for today. Mummy was working tonight, so I had to get home quick, make sure I had the right change and then pick up the necessary photographic equipment enroute to the shop again.

So we phoned mummy at home from the phone box round the corner so Bethany now knows what a phone box does.

-----------------------------------------------

It only occurs to me when I interact or come across odd looking phone boxes how much of a quantum shift we've had in telecommunications in my generation. We went from phones in houses and common sight phone boxes on street corners to cheap mobile phones and internet video calling all in the space of about 10 years and yes, in another 10 years, the street corner telephone box will probably be a very rare thing indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.