just allan

By allan

Less of the Same

Lapwing on the Biel mudflats at Belhaven, East Lothian. I set off with every intention to make it to the Post Office before my train, but then again I also packed my zoom lens and took the coastal path. Who was I kidding? I got as far as the Bay and snapped away until I just had time for the train. A very nice start to the day, and I can get to the PO tomorrow.

I often photograph at Belhaven, and the Bass Rock is the obvious backdrop, so "more of the same". But the lapwing flock aren't so often here. The sad thing is that this is a large flock these days, we used to see 10 times this many regularly. I've written before about the difficulty of summer ploughing for lapwing breeding and here's evidence. Well, I'm glad to see them at all, even if it's "Less of the Same".

Large.

Then into work and a bit more "decisive" action by way of phone calls. It'll all be over by Christmas (actually it won't but the end might be in sight).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.