KatGirl

By katgirl

Spirit of Thanksgiving

As I was about to pay for my items at the grocery store, the clerk announced that I had spent enough to qualify for a free Turkey. We are not hosting Thanksgiving this year, but perhaps I could cook a small turkey to keep James happy, as he loves that meal. A clerk ran to get the turkey but took forever to return. Meanwhile, the line behind me grew and grew. Finally, he came back with a nearly 18 pound turkey. I couldn't even get that in my freezer and there is no way the three of us could eat that much. I asked if I could donate it and the lady behind me in line asked if she could have it. Absolutely was my reply and she Thanked the Lord and broke out in to a huge smile. She gave me permission to take her picture and I love that look of happiness she has as she cuddles her dog.

8 years ago, one of my clients brought me a cooked Turkey for Thanksgiving while I was at work in the hospital. The Turkey fed James and I, and the ICU staff, students, and doctors, who were insanely busy. I always remember that client who saved Thanksgiving for so many people that day. We still email each other at Thanksgiving. Last year I learned that she had become vegetarian and was serving a Tofurky. Thanksgiving was in honor of the turkey she had "adopted" so that he would not become someone's meal.

I hope this woman and her family have a great Thanksgiving, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.