Great great grandfather's daguerreotype

A good daguerreotype was as perfect a kind of photograph as was ever made
Edward Steichen

Happy posthumous 224th birthday to Louis Daguerre(thank you Google doodle), photography pioneer and inventor of the daguerreotype.

Many of my mother's relatives are frozen in daguerreotypes, framed, latched and forever ringed in gold. Here sits Captain James Alfred Mahoney, born in 1840, Lubec, Maine. Son of an Irish sea captain from Belfast, he lived a long and prosperous life. The rolling pin pictured was hewn by his hands, from a Maine pine. I still use it today. He married a woman with a string of names, adding another to the list. I always loved hearing it tumble from my grandmother's lips...Sarah Mariah Moore Marston Mahoney.

Last year's thumbnail captures my favorite and first costumed shot of Raspberry. It was my 2o0th Blip Birthday. What a fun ride this place is!

Latest painting in progress...

For the Record,
This day came in sunny after a hard frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.