Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Bath time boys

My birthday yesterday. What a day!

Reuben washing Callum's face. Callum tried to protest but found himself laughing instead. Fun large.

Starting to think how exhausting photography is, I mean mentally. More so than any job I've held including those at the top of my senior career in marketing, head of marketing, heading a department, all that, compounded by my perfectionism. Everything there is to think of at the exact same moment, don't you think? Set the scene in my head; obsessively think of the composition and reposition myself to cut out distracting objects; set the exposure; set the focal points; quick shift the focal points again for the eyes; reposition boys; run after boys; crawl on the ground; get self up by leaning on knees. You get the gist. This 43 year old body struggles at times with all the running around, kneeling (my bad knees). Just a thought... So on that basis, and a week that's seen two family shoots, one commercial, one newborn and an obsessive number of sessions with the boys, this is SOOC.

Fab day of reading from the boys, Callum in the morning and Reuben completing the 60 page Hop on Pop book all by himself after school. I'm impressed Reu!

Off to see Noel Gallagher playing at UCLA "all by myself". I've never had any qualms about going to gigs by myself and I've been to what must amass to 100s. Edit: fabulous night, all the 90s and 00s Oasis tracks I know every note and word to, singing to the top of my voice. Wonderful wonderful evening.

In case you haven't noticed: I've had more of a social life in 2 weeks than I've had in 5 years. Premieres, parties, gigs and I'm loving it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.