Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

AF447

The first of my back-blips from Paris.

I arrived at Gare du Nord in the early afternoon with a few hours to spare before my evening meeting so I headed straight to Cimetière du Père-Lachaise. I've been to Paris about twenty times but keep missing what is supposedly the most visited cemetry in the world. Established by Napoleon in 1804 the cemetry now holds over 1 million bodies with many more in the columbarium. Balzac, Bizet, Chopin, Delacroix, Moliere, Proust .... the list of famous burials goes on and on. It is also the site of Buchenwald-Dora, Mathausen, AuschwitzIII and Ravensbruck holocaust memorials.

One of the more recent memorials it to the 216 passengers and 12 crew of Air France 447 Airbus A330-200 flight from Rio to Paris which was lost over the Atlantic in June 2009, the investigation of which is still on-going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.