Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Chocolatier

My second back-blip from Paris.

Spent most of the day entombed in the conference centre. Proceedings finished at 4pm so I had time to walk up to Place Charles de Gaulle and to try and capture the panoramic view of Paris from the terrasse on top of the Arc de Triomphe before the sunset. Walking away from Etoile I came across a striking display in the window of this chocolatier(I think this was on Avenue Victor Hugo), on one side was a series of giant pumpkins and on the other a life-sized chocolate orang-utan. I think this is one of the creations by Patrick Roger and is drawing attention to the fact that the deforestation of Indonesia to make way for palm oil plantations is driving the orang-utan towards extinction. Palm oil is still used by some chocolate manufacturers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.