Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Downy, like the woodpecker

Well, my hubs and MIL left this morning for the drive to VA. I am staying home, getting some much needed rest and catching up on things around here. Having my MIL stay with us these last few weeks has been wonderful, but it's also taken a toll on me in the fatigue department. One of my post-brain tumor legacies is a finite reserve of energy.

This morning I was up for the sunrise. The blue jays were the first to show up just as the sun was peaking through the trees. Next up came the house finches. After the sun got a bit higher, I went in my office to do a little paperwork before hubs and MIL got up and as I was working I caught some movement out of the corner of my eye. it was this little downy woodpecker, eating some seeds right outside my window! So, this shot is through the glass, but I was only about 6 feet away.

Later, while I was out on the deck cleaning up scattered seeds and leaves, another little male downy (or maybe the same one) came over and perched for a minute or so to watch me. Once he'd decided I wasn't harmful, he went right over to the suet feeder on the deck and started eating. While he was dining, a female downy came around, but I wasn't able to get her in the frame. The females don't have the red patch on their heads, but are still quite beautiful with all that intricate black and white.

Had I been a little quicker with the camera, I might have gotten a shot of two house finches battling it out in a fine aerial display. They stay in flocks int he winter, but have a definite hierarchy and frequently spat at the feeders.

And, no day at our house would be complete with out the nuthatches, who travel with a loose band of titmice and chickadees in the winter.

Off to have a nice cup of tea and maybe put my feet up and watch a little mindless tv. Yes, that's how I roll on a Saturday night. Sheesh. i am sure I'll be in bed by 8 pm, too....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.