earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The House of the Hermit

A hermit is simply a person to whom civilization has failed to adjust itself.

Will Cuppy

But I'll tell you what hermits realise. If you go off into a far, far forest and get very quiet, you'll come to understand that you're connected with everything.

Alan Watts


A big little house

I've enjoyed a wonderful 24 hours of total relaxation. I will return to tales of my boys at the end of their cricket celebration weekend, but today was for me and I spent most of it on the moor. I don't think I have ever been up there in quite such incredibly photogenic conditions. There was an amazing temperature inversion effect in operation, but where normally the mist in the valley burns off after a few hours, today it kept ebbing and flowing in waves. It was almost like a tide of mist going out and coming back in again. I had a long jog/run this morning, only returning home when the battery in my camera died. A quick bite of lunch to recharge myself (as well as the camera) and I was out again for long walk/jog (I was getting tired!) to explore parts of the moor I didn't get to in the morning.

I was trying to keep just above the cloud, as close as possible to the zone where all the magic happens! Today there was a very distinct boundary to the mist layer. You went from being unable to see the sun at all to being under dazzling clear blue skies in a matter of just a hundred feet of altitude. I took over 300 photographs! I must have at least 10 which I consider to be rather special. But you only get to see one! Choosing could have been a nightmare, but I was drawn to this right away and have decided not to procrastinate. It struck me as a rather magical picture. I think it's that little tree growing out of the roof that did it for me, as well as possibly being the shot that would be the hardest to capture again.

Finally, in response to a couple of people who specifically asked, I have to tell you that I am now a fully paid-up member of the "Strictly" fan club. I'm completely hooked - line and sinker indeed. It's simply the most fantastic entertainment. I'm now upset that I've come to the party so late! For me, Saturday evening television has always been something to avoid as dire in the extreme, but I now find myself counting down the hours!! There ... I've said it. I'm out of the closet at last. That is just so liberating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.