Photos of things I see

By Aboak

An Ode to Marzipan

I found you there in Lidl
by the other festive sweets
Did someone know or realise,
my weakness for these treats?

You're shaped just like a Christmas log,
with a brittle chocolate sheen,
I'd eat two or three, or maybe four
If it weren't deemed so obscene

Let's eat half a bar this evening,
and another tomorrow night,
But when will everyone notice
that my waistband's far too tight?

They say you have a problem,
When you see it for yourself,
And now I have a pang of guilt,
When i reach up to the shelf

"One more, but then no more for sure",
As I open up my mouth,
Teutonic flavours, fat and nuts
To my stomach, heading south

Is it possible that this could be
my undoing as a man:
Cut down in his late thirties
By a bar of marzipan?

Well now you're on my Blip page,
and have a modicum of fame,
So my fellow blippers know for sure,
of my secret marzy shame!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.