Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Play

The art opening we went to last night was "Isaac Layman-Paradise" at the Fyre Art Museum. I had seen and liked some of his work before and wanted to see him in person and couldn't make the gallery talk, so we withstood the crowd (something I usually avoid). An earnest young man, he photographs objects in his own house, making them into his personal "Paradise" - refusing to get caught up in everything bad going on in the world today. It's his method of taking many photos of the same object at different focal points and stitching them together so any depth is very ambiguous and then blowing them up into huge pictures that I find interesting. This new show, however, was ever so spare, with some huge photos of what looked like white wall to me. There were no labels, so everyone was 2 inches from the photo, trying to guess what it was. I think I am more drawn to some of the earlier work.
I was merely inspired to play with the camera and different manual focal points when I did these glasses, which are IN NO WAY (!) related to anything Isaac does, but an attempt to put multiple images together. Pretty unsuccessful I think, but the light is gone and it's too late to look for another blip today.
The best part of my day was a civilized lunch with a good friend.
Here's some links if you are interested in Isaac Layman
And this is the currant show at the Frye I did love this piece advertising the exhibit. Any guesses as to what it is?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.