A Hot Day

There was a warm, blustery nor'wester, the sort of day we expect in November, but this spring has been wet instead. I went to the Waimakariri Gorge bridge, but I couldn't walk out on the bridge as I like to do. It was a three-hand activity. One hand to hold the camera, one for the hat, and another to keep me upright.

Very little snow is left on the mountains, but a nor'wester is followed by a sou'wester, and that could dump fresh snow up there.

It was too windy for the insects on the angelica flowers. I have put the shot of the green and brown fly from yesterday in my Blipfolio for a limited time. The fly was a bit longer and a lot slimmer than a blowfly, and much bigger than a hoverfly. EDIT: Mollyblobs has identified it as a soldier fly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.