things that make me go mm

By vixtrix

Sunday...bloody sunday....

Sundays....a bit of a mixed emotion day. Still a day to relax but the imminence of Monday looming over you is enough to put you off your roast potatoes.

Now talking of things that make me go mmmm.......roast potatoes....roast anything really. Heaven in an oven. I do a roast most Sundays, sometimes it is just us five, sometimes we have friends round and there is much fun and a frolicking I can tell you!! I find the Sunday roast one of the easier dishes to cook - it kind of just cooks itself really. It is all about the timing - how long for that perfectly cooked slab of meat...when to put the potatoes in (I also do a roll of suet pudding, which is boiled for the same length of time as the tatties - one hour) - when to put the yorkshires on...you get my drift. But I have been cooking roasts for so long it has become instinct these days.

I even make my own yorkshires now, courtesy of a FAB Jamie Oliver recipe, so eat your heart out Aunt Bessie.

I am striving to become the modern Ma Larkin (The Darling Buds of May) just without the fat arse....I am failing miserably with the latter, but some days I feel like the former is achievable.

It saddens me that the family meals, where you actually all sit round at a table making eye contact and passing salt and stuff, are on the wane. It really is lovely. The British used to be so good at it as well - we pissed all over those Italians and their great family gatherings around the God of Dolmio - every Sunday, a huge lump of raw animal turned into the most miraculous of culinary delights in just a matter of hours.

We should claim our Sunday Roasts back - invite your family and friends round, share food and wine and laughter - remember why your love each other. If nothing else, it is always good to trade insults face to face than behind a back.

Happy Sunday one and all.

PS - oh the photo thing - yep, that'll be another two favourite things - the sparkly (which you will see a pattern forming) and the countryside. I love living out in the sticks - I love the fresh air and the unsociableness of no neighbours. Now that may seem a little hypocritical of someone praising the joys of getting together with loved ones...and I do love that too....but on my terms. Don't care for the fuckers living within stone throwing distance - no that would not do at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.