Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Working Welsh?

I awoke with a massive headache. Utterly exhausted, and really NOT feeling like driving to Reading for a 5-hour Welsh tutorial.

However, the Wonderspouse got me up, filled me with tea, told me to pack my bag, and sent me on my way. I took Laura's carry box too, "just in case"!!!

I found Reading College without much difficulty (it just seemed weird to be in Reading when it wasn't packed with people in wellies, as I mainly know it from going to the Festival!). I met up with someone else who was on the same course as me, and we arrived to a friendly bunch of folk and our new tutor, who turned out to be fabulous!

Fortunately, it didn't matter that I hadn't done too much preparation - partly because I'm quite a quick learner, and partly because there were others who hadn't done too much either. I learnt LOADS, and am really looking forward to carrying on with the course. I think I was the youngest there by about 20 years, and I seemed to be the only person there who didn't have Welsh ancestry or family, but these things never worry me, especially not when our tutor brought bara brith with her to hand out to us during the lunch break!!!

Once finished, I left Reading, popped in at a large supermarket to get the bits of shopping the Wonderspouse had requested, and then headed to where the pet store was located.

My first call was Maplin, to get a wi-fi dongle to try to connect my netbook to the interwebs again (there is a dongle somewhere in our house, but it's in the Wonderspouse's study, which means it would probably take about 2 years to find - I did say to him "if my study looked like yours, I'd shoot myself", his reply: "if my study looked like yours I'd wonder where all the rodents had come from").

Then I went to see about little Robbie. He was still there, and so the decision was made - he was coming home with me. I bought one or two bits and bobs he would need, none of it very expensive, and a bag of dwarf hamster food for him. Then he was put into Laura's box, and we drove home together, through the dark foggy night!

Once home, I set Robbie's home up, and popped him in. He seemed very happy, which was fab!

I then set up the software for the dongle, which worked! HURRAH! Then reloaded the virus protection software, which worked this time. The Wonderspouse brought me supper (lamb & mint pie with potatoes and broccoli), and all was well with the world!

I even managed 6 pages of book before falling asleep in the bath!

:-)

Oops, nearly forgot about the picture - our tutor gave us all one of these. I'm not sure whether I'm ready to speak Welsh at work just yet (especially as I'm currently teaching English as a foreign language so introducing Welsh into the mix might just be TOO complicated), but I'll certainly wear it once I can speak a bit more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.