The Wren

By TheWren

The lion sleeps tonight ....

The forecasters had said that it would be a good day today - so that is why it had been earmarked for the shed repair. I had worked diligently to complete the coat of primer and two coats of gloss despite the fact that the paint simply would not dry. I had also struggled to get all the battens into the rather full garage overnight during the last few days because five slim but long pieces of wood are not the most manageable when they are sticky with dark green gloss paint. In the end last night I decided to leave the battens outside to dry - because it was to be a fair night. Hedging my bets just in case it might have rained I replaced the cardboard boxes they were suspended between for some old bricks and managed to get everything covered in green paint in the process. I was not a happy bunny at the end of it, although I did discover that mega doses of fairy liquid and a scrubbing brush worked a treat on gloss coloured flesh!

Then this morning I woke up to the fact that it had rained. ....the only positive thing about this was that it gave me an interesting blip. You can actually see through the rain drops on the batten that the underlying paint had not been put on very effectively - can anyone else see the face of a sleeping lion?

Eventually a friend came over as arranged and the shed roof is now water-tight and very smart with its new green battens. Twenty minutes after completion it started to pour with rain again! Luckily the dogs and I had enjoyed a good walk prior to all the repair work.

A quiet evening is now ahead with Strictly results and catching up on the Frozen Planet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.