Will you be OK?

I wanted to go and see what the river walk was like after yesterday's deluge so once my art class was over I donned my full waterproofs and set off with the dogs. They couldn't believe their luck as I had abandoned them all day yesterday with no walk but just a friend popping in to give them a respite in the garden and a Bonio at mid-day. They had given me the sulky look all evening as I refused to take them out on such a dark, wet and windy night! Then I left them again for my art class this morning!!

At last we set off, but unlike the past couple of walks along this route there was no sunshine to brighten the leaves and water or to cast shadows along the path. Instead of my visual senses being satisfied it was my aural senses which were activated today. The small river which leads into the Earn was in spate and I have never heard the water moving along so noisily. As we progressed my feet constantly squelched loudly in the sodden leaves and mud and, even before I saw it, I heard the main river racing tumultuously along, crashing against rocks now just below the surface and sweeping along at a pace. When I did finally see the river, instead of its customary calm reflective surface, it was covered with splashing and foaming white horses. Further into the walk the rain increased and at one point it was so heavy that I could hear the large drops echoing as they ricocheted off the bare branches before landing at my feet.

Cara, as you know, is a water baby and kept going to the water's edge as usual investigating places to go in and have a swim which she loves to do on this walk. However the pace of the water proved too much even for her and time after time she and Bruce decided that retreat was the better form of valour. Areas of the path had been tricky but manageable as we started the walk but after we had turned to go back, about 45 minutes later, I noticed that the river had continued to rise and had now obscured the path at one particular point. You can see Cara and Bruce looking back at me as if to say "We are OK paddling but how about you?" The answer was - I got wet feet! I know, I could have climbed the banking but to be honest it was so muddy that falling and landing in the water was a distinct possibility!

Safely home now and all three of us have dried out and are feeling warmer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.