The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Murmuration Watch

Back to Newport Wetlands again today. The third visit in just over a week.

Once again we were there to try and watch "natures lava lamp", the starling murmuration.

It was a mini tweet up/ blipmeet. We met up with Twedding guests and friends; JerryWSL and WelshSi, I suspect Wooly may have been about, but I am not sure.

Alas tonight's murmuration was not a touch on Friday's day of Birding Majesty, not really up there with last Saturday. But hey ho!

There were a lot of starlings, but they pretty much arrived in dribs and drabs and headed straight into a distant reed bed. I suppose it does them no good roosting in the same spot, especially when there are as many raptors wandering around as there was Friday.

Since Newport Wetlands got mentioned on Autumnwatch over the past few weeks, there has definitely been an upturn in visitors at the weekend. As you can see from this photo there was a small number of us gathered to watch the starlings.

If the starlings disappointed slightly, the sunset didn't. It was quite spectacular.

I managed to complete my set of raptors spotted with this Kestrel hovering outside the visitor centre.

I also rejected this teasel photo as it didn't really fit in with the story I wanted to tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.