Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Pie Maker

So, last Monday night, we sat and watched Junior Apprentice. I can't remember the exact details of the programme, but they were selling stuff, including a pie maker!

Now, the Wonderspouse and I grew up in the era of toasted sandwich* machines, and both retain a fondness for such gadgetry. The Wonderspouse instantly declared the pie maker a marvel, and said that he'd buy one!

So I went on the interwebs, and ordered one (they weren't terribly pricey), and last night we made our first pie! Well, I got the ingredients, and the Wonderspouse made the pie!

And it was a miracle. Pastry and cherry pie filling were put in, the machine was turned on, and 10 minutes later, a yummy pie emerged. The Wonderspouse also made custard to go on it - delicious!

It was the sort of cherry pie filling that comes in a jar, complete with ersatz cherries. That goopy stuff, that brings back memories of childhood, of seconds at school dinners, and of all that's warm and comforting! :-)

As to the rest of the day.

Well, I didn't have to go into college because it was tutorials, and I'd already had mine on Friday, so I had a day catching up at home. I spruced up Robbie's cage a bit (no big clean needed, since he's only been in it 2 days and he's still settling in), cleaned Laura's bedroom module (that's the bit that gets really grubby, so I do that more often than the rest of the cage), and then cleaned the rat cage completely from top to bottom and enjoyed the wondrous pleasure of watching Charlie & Moses inspect the whole thing thorougly!

I then hoovered upstairs, and went through the massive pile of stuff on my desk, separating into piles: English teaching materials, Welsh learning materials, Rodent paraphernalia, and general admin and bits and bobs!

Then to town, to pick up some groceries (including pie-making ingredients), then home for a bit more tidying up (found the dining table again), all the while loading and unloading the washing machine!

Finally, a good session of viola practice, restoration of both hamsters to my study (they'd been sleeping in our bedroom so as to get a good day's sleep and not be disturbed by all the sorting and hoovering), and collection of the Wonderspouse!

Then supper and pie! Yummy!

*the thing about toasted sandwich machines, is that you need to make them with proper square plastic bread, not the posh sort with rounded edges, or the cheese leaks out all over the place and the edge of the ham gets burnt. When I took my sandwich machine home from college, I discovered that my parents only had the rounded sort of bread, so I left a note in the kitchen for my mum, saying "Dear Mum, please could I have some square bread, love Ann xx". I got home later to find a plate on the kitchen side, with a small square piece of bread on it, about an inch each side, with a note saying "Dear Ann, here is your square bread, love Mum xx"!!!!

Miniature sandwiches anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.