The Wren

By TheWren

The hills at last!

This morning while I was at my art class I was so fidgety because the elusive sun was shining, the hills were looking fabulous and I was afraid it would all disappear before I got out there. However today I was in luck! Once home I quickly had a bite to eat, grabbed the camera and the dogs and sped off for the walk.... and the sun was still shining!

It was just wonderful to see the light glancing through the now naked trees and forming long shadows on the autumn leaf litter which today was deliciously crunchy underfoot. I took so many photos because everything looked superb, but eventually decided on this one because it shows off the line of hills so well. ...also Cara makes an appearance too. I cannot remember a time when these hills have spent such a lengthy time hidden from view and if the forecast is right they could disappear again tomorrow.

I passed the fence where I had seen the spider and moth yesterday, and the moth is till there but it is now definitely dead and cocooned in the web ready for the spider to feast on another day.

This afternoon, after the walk, I popped Cara and Bruce into kennels as tomorrow morning I am meeting my son and daughter-in-law, who are over from the States for a brief visit to be Best Man and bridesmaid at another RAF pilot's wedding. We are to take ceremonial swords with us up north, to be used by the Guard of Honour at the wedding, and there wouldn't be room in the car for all of this plus two dogs. Also once I have deposited them with their friends I will be high-tailing it back home. I am so looking forward to the chance of a good chat and catch up as we travel north. Unfortunately the weather forecast doesn't look too promising which is a shame as the journey would otherwise be very picturesque.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.