Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Boo!

This isn't my best shot of the day, but it is my favorite. I laughed when I saw it, such a laugh that I even snorted a bit of tea out of my nose. Lovely, eh?

I was pfaffing around in my office today, trying to look productive, but in truth I was being entertained by the band of house finches. They come and go all day and much like a large Italian family, they eat, chatter, and bicker constantly. There is always a lot of chatter so I hear them when they arrive at the window feeders, and if I sneak stealthily along the floor, I can get quite close for some through-the-window shots. This little female was sitting on a branch just on the other side of the window and I swear she was looking right at me. I kept watching and she eventually shrugged as if to way "whatever!"

While I was watching the finches, the lovely Mrs. RBW also made an appearance, scarfing down a bunch of suet before zipping away.

This is the first year since we have been married that the hubs and I aren't having the whole family over for Thanksgiving - his parents and sister have moved to Alabama and Aunt Rosie just passed - and it feels a little weird not to be up to my neck in cooking right now. We decided that it would be too melancholy to cook for just the two of us, so we went on Priceline and booked a cheap room in the City for tomorrow and Thursday night. We'll stay downtown, near the site of the World Trade Center and walking distance to Soho and the Village. The weather is supposed to clear by tomorrow afternoon, so we will just wander and have fun. Not sure what time we are going in tomorrow so not sure if I'll blip before we leave, or wait and do something NYC-ish.

Happy Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.