horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Still in Limbo

I'm not exactly tied to the office for every waking hour, far from it, but it's still busy, and I really should have stayed later tonight to get everything done. But I'd managed to eat virtually nothing (for me, I am a cyclist after all) all day and my stomach was growling. Decent effort today though, getting our big new fancy documents past a committee.

Found out more about the job situation. Sort of. I really can't fault my bosses (especially my immediate boss, and not because she might end up reading this, she's been fab throughout and kept me informed all the way), but the process is more than a little infuriating. The forms seeking justification for keeping me on went to the committee they needed to go to - only they weren't in time for the committee meeting that took place last week. Now why they couldn't tell my bosses that until a week after the meeting took place god only knows, but it means that my future is not debated until the end of the first week of December. So I could find out I'm out of a job for 2012 a mere couple of weeks before Christmas.

Equally I could find out I'm being kept on, but there have been a lot of "... these are tough economic times, and legal can't be shown to be immune" official messages coming out, including from that very committee meeting that will debate me after their meeting last week. The inference (that doesn't need much line-between-reading is that some of the many job cuts being made in the company will come from legal, and previous company-wide messages have been that they hope most cuts will come from 'natural wastage' - what could be more natural than someone coming to the end of a temp contract?).

Ah well, coping a little better with it all (still getting about 4 hours sleep a night, but that's almost par for the course for me), let's see what tomorrow brings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.