The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Preston Station

Continuing the railway theme from yesterday and Sunday. This is Platform 4 in Preston Station, where I changed on my way home from Warrington. So far this year I have blipped Lancaster, Crewe, Warrington and Wigan. All I need now is Oxenholme and that will be a full set for the stations between Kendal and Crewe. Anyway, I have enough nerdy interests without turning into a railway buff, but Preston does have a rather fine roof and I have put this into b&w to try and emphasise its details.

As for yesterday, I didn't want to convey the impression I was at a boring meeting. It was anything but. However, the blipaholic's eye is constantly diverted by something that is visually more interesting, and that was the view across the Mersey to the Liverpool waterfront bathed in late afternoon sunshine.

This morning's meeting in Warrington was in a hotel in a part of the town that was redeveloped fairly recently before the recession hit. The next door office belonged to the North West Development Agency, now defunct since the current Government decided to abolish the Development Agencies. Activity there is winding down and the place has a forlorn air. The building was optimistically called Renaissance House, just a little ironic in the present circumstances. Outside there is a half-hearted fountain bubbling blue water - why?

Our meeting in the hotel was in the Motivation suite, the hotel also has a suite called Inspiration. Maybe the place is run by one of the former contestants from The Apprentice?

Much more motivating for me at least was the return today of Wifie from Paris. We had a fish and chip supper this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.