What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Literary Abandon

My NaNo bumper sticker arrived - yay! It has joined the rest in decorating the lid of my laptop (shiny new for precisely three months before I stickered it!). Managed to write 1,010 words today without really trying - the word flow is starting to return, which is good for me, maybe not so good for what my characters are about to go through...

Some notes about the stickers... two are obviously not NaNo related, they don't say the word on them for starters. The skull patch is an Ultramarines icon I picked up at a Gamesday a couple of years back. The 'Stop the One Show!' is from an EdFringe show by The Roaring Boys - if you ever get a chance to see one of their shows I heartily recommend it.

The sticker in the top left is my favourite NaNo one of all time - it reads: "Be nice to me or I'll put you in my novel." Funnily enough this threat/promise has been applied to me and several of my friends from back in Oxford; the two '8-I' novels I wrote feature eight characters, each one based on me or a friend, designed one night down the pub!

In other news, after yesterday's marathon work session I had a mini-one today, but happily that led to me completely five of six reports I need done by tomorrow, and the last one is going to be partially scavenged from the rest so it's all good.

One more day, then it's a week's holiday and complete literary abandon for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.