Day By Dave

By daybydave

All Saints Church

This is All Saints Church, Weston, near Thames Ditton. I didn't know that when I came across it. Looking across from here it had an almost derelict look, though that I think is caused more by the state of the pond and banks than the church itself.

Anyway, a little research informs me that All Saints in also known as "The Little White Church by the Pond", a name that stands up to scrutiny under the Trades Description Act. I think at a nicer time of year it can be quite picturesque.

Another thing I learnt is that the architect was Edward Maufe, the archiitect of Guildford Cathedral. I have another connection to him, which is that during my childhood I attended St Thomas the Apostle Church in Hanwell. He designed that too, and there is much of the church design that reminds you of the Cathedral. Perhaps I shall blip that shortly. St Thomas' not Guildford Cathedral which saw quite enough publicity in The Omen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.