Struggling with Scotland The World Over

Despite the cheery sunshine, today has been a struggle.

A struggle against the wind and the early morning chill.
A struggle with the low sun on the car windscreen.
A struggle to find anything suitable in Decathlon.
A struggle to remain cheerful on an abortive morning out.

A struggle to find today's blip,
A struggle to decide which mediocre blip to use.
A struggle to write a blog.
A struggle to remain cheerful,
with the result
That I am discombobulated.

I have not yet read the Sunday papers
Nor have I started on the last of the Christmas cards.

It shouldn't be so.
It's a beautiful day
The sun is shining from a ceiling of blue,
And people are out walking and playing football.

Positively, I have managed to bake two gingerbreads
which appear to be healthy and edible.

But I sit at my desk thinking of all the tasks still to do,
And remembering yesterday's simple pleasures of riding
the ferris wheel in Princes Street in the high wind,
and seeing the winter funfair through the eyes of a three year old.

Life is too short to struggle and not do cheerfulness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.