Aurora Borealis

One of the principle reasons for going to Iceland in November was that the incidence of the Northern Lights being visible increases in the winter months. That, however, doesn't take into account that the number of days when it is cloudy and snowing also increases. I was starting to think that we would go the entire trip and not get to see the phenomena and then suddenly in my hotel room at Borgannes I looked out of the window and started to see what looked like clouds forming and realised this was the start of a display.

For the next 15 minutes I pounded around like a child trying to find dark views of the aurora in a heavily lit car park. It is addictive though, now I have seen one I want to see more in better locations with greater brightness and colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.