Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Four Trees

I have photographed these trees mant tines over the last few years.  I was always suspicious as to why they never lost their leaves in winter. I just couldn't figure out what evergreen tree had that shape.

Last year, when I climbed the slope to investigate. I discovered that they were overgrown privet bushes.  There were the remains of an old boundary wall and several remnants of a privet hedge.  Since this now lies in a field where cattle are grazed, they have browsed on the privet foliage.  Most have been reduced to vestigial stumps. but these four had obviously managed to get a head start and pushed their growing tips out of reach.  Browsing has continued to keep the lower growth well  under control.

Today has been a total contrast to the last couple of days and there has been sunshine and clear blue skies all day. Although the wind has dropped, it is still strong and also cold.  Nevertheless, I had a pleasant walk around Lochore this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.