Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Relays

Relays are electromechanical switches and after many years of service its best just to remove the old ones and replace with new ones?

Enlarge


Caution Tech Stuff: I shot the old relays sitting on top of their invoice. To this I shot some flames from a modified fireplace starter. I blended the flames layer which is on top of the relays layer using a Linear Burn blend mode and set the opacity to about 75%. It looks cool but the relays are way too dark. To this flame layer I added a mask. Using a soft black paint brush I spot painted the relays so they look like I shot them with a little flashlight. The mask is holding back the burn layer and letting the relays shine through.

Next I sharpen the relays and text. Make a copy of this and place it on top. I then removed the color information, blurred the layer and add it back at about 50% opacity using the Soft Light blend mode.

I then copy the 3 layers into a single 4th layer. To this 4th layer I make 2 passes through the Lens Correction filter and add in the vignetting. Enjoy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.