Alone

My house has been stripped of all of its fripperies.

The dog has gone to his country retreat.

The cats prowl the empty rooms, as if looking for something.

Rae and I sit in an empty living room; waiting for something to happen.

Pio's gorilla sits alone on Pio's rocking chair; wondering where everyone has gone.

The painters plastered the hallway today - and that's all.

There is no way my house is going to be ready for my parents' arrival.

Oh well, what's a bit of plaster dust and paint fumes between friends and family?

Edit: Not that I'm complaining; it's being done, and I am very fortunate not to have suffered more serious damage from the earthquakes. I know people who have lost their homes and loved ones. My last sentence about the plaster dust and paint fumes is true; when you have your friends and family around you, what does it really matter?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.