Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

To Start Over

"Vitality shows in not only the ability to persist but the ability to start over."

- F. Scott Fitzgerald


Today I started a new job. The day consisted mainly of looking around the inpatient unit and two community clinics. My trips to and from one of those clinics should afford me great opportunities to practise landscape photography; it's really stunning.

While waiting for the train in the afternoon I noticed the entrance to the Kingsford Smith Memorial Park. I took a little wander down some beautiful shady paths and stairs, and got a few photos along the way.

I did my simplistic attempt at the Zone method for exposure: I decided the stone in the light going up the stair should be a mid-grey; half depressed the shutter, noting the suggested shutter speed in aperture priority mode/spot metering; switched to manual mode, set the shutter speed (slightly faster for some reason, which was good, as I noticed later that I had the exposure compensation up a touch), composed, and clicked.

I then cropped it to square, and did a B&W conversion (I had been thinking B&W when I took it) with blue filter at zero, green filter at 100%, and red left at 50%. I sharpened it a little, and then pulled up the luminance curve very slightly.

I almost blipped something else today: my photo book arrived. :-D as nice and portable as digital mages are, it's lovely to have this physical record in my hands. ^_^

Large version here.

Unprocessed version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.