Quince

Today's the day ......................... to make jelly

I'm so annoyed with myself.

I decided I was going to make some quince and damson jelly today. I picked all the quinces - like this one - in the garden and I got some damsons from this year's crop out of the deep freeze.

Quinces never look as if they would make anything tasty because they are very hard and consist mainly of pips - but they do. And if you mix them with damsons, the jelly takes on the wonderful red damson colour. So I put them in a pan with water and left them to simmer away while I did a few things on the computer.

An hour later, I suddenly became aware of that burning pan smell - rushed downstairs - and yes, it was an irretrievable black sticky mess. I'll be lucky if I can manage to salvage the pan.

Just as well I took this picture before making the jelly or you might think that they never existed at all .......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.