In Between Days

By jase

Xscape

Xscape is about a mile from my house. I picked Alana up from there this evening. She had been to a birthday party at Laserzone and I think she had a nice time. Xscape was built a few years ago on the site of an old coal mine. It's main selling point is it's real snow ski slope but it has restaurants, a bowling alley and a cinema plus various bars. It's great having a cinema on our doorstep again and a place where we can eat out. It's a busy thriving little collection of businesses. There are a few downsides. It's busy at night but not a place I would want to go. That could be my age but I do get the impression it attracts a certain type and it's not for me. It's also probably been the final nail in the coffin for the two town centres of Pontefract and Castleford. Pontefract used to have a decent town centre, with some good shops and it was also a good night out. Not anymore. It would have probably happened anyway without Xscape. People just aren't into town centres like they used to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.