Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Autumn leaves Part (oh I've lost count)

Returning to the same leaves I captured Reuben in two weeks ago and neglected capturing Callum in the next day (I mean I literally left with Callum and not a sausage of an image in my camera). Reuben was safely ensconced in school, Callum and I had been singing Jingle Bells in the car so we was in a good mood.

I hadn't expected Callum to come running after me with the leaves, drowning me in them. Little rascal.

Afterwards a couple of hours were spent reading in the library and I sat contentedly with the pile of books beside us that we'd consumed. Picking up a Bob Book he hadn't seen in a while, he read most of Mac and Summer, clearly a combination of from memory and sight reading and delightful for me to hear. And then it was Callum's turn to be dropped off at school, approaching the older kids and wondering how to engage them in conversation and play, and Reuben's turn to be picked up and taken to Occupational Therapy where he rather niftily used tongs akin to chopsticks to pick up objects. I'm glad we've rekindled this therapy after 18 months, but I felt the break was pretty essential just to get our heads above water again after the intensity of Reuben's first 3 years of life.

A note on the image: It doesn't tend to be my taste to take the viewer out of the image as dictated by the subject's posture or gaze, but here I rather like it and perhaps the converging lines of the dark tones lead to Callum, but that just pulls it apart in technicalities. It makes me question what he's looking at, what's illuminating his face so. And suddenly here I see he has my cheeks. Been using different lenses recently. Nice to get back to the 50/1.4 old faithful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.