Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Looking Up

We were talking about Bradford's buildings over coffee at work, and one of my colleagues stunned us by saying he thought the Town Hall was a horrendous, overindulgent gothic fantasy. We generally take if for granted that it's one of the jewels of the city, and we always make sure that visitors walk across Centenary Square, even over the past two years when it's been a building site, so that they can get its full impact.

Buildings are a matter of taste, and I've previously reflected on how I've come to admire certain buildings in the city which at first I thought an eyesore.

The light and weather often make a difference, and this morning was one of those magic light mornings, where the low sun burnishes the sandstone.

This image comes from the back of the Town Hall, in Norfolk Gardens. I was a little spoiled for pictures to select from, but I've chosen one that features the sky as much as the buildings, with a nice patch of 'herringbone' in the middle.

We always say it pays to look up in Bradford.

dragons ~ and gothic spires ~ dare you look up?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.