Aye Spy

By MeaMo

Overflowing

After a night of torrential rain and widespread flooding, I thought there would be a good chance that the spillway at Loch Turret Reservoir would have plenty of water in it and I wasn't disappointed.
It's always a thrill to see the water cascading down the spillway! At the bottom where it curves round the concrete wall, there was a churning mass of frothy water after which it poured into the (normally very shallow) Turret stream, itself in spate.
It's a pity that I can't put some sound effects into blipfoto! Standing close to the side of the spillway on the steps that follow it all the way to the dam at the top, the water noise was deafening.
I climbed the steps to the dam to see what what happening up there. I was almost blown off my feet in a bitingly cold wind. Water levels in the Reservoir were very high, with the wind whipping up waves.
It was time to walk very briskly along the dam and head back to the car park. On the way I passed a herd of highland cattle grazing on the hillside, the poor things looking so wet and bedraggled. One of them ambled over towards me, a huge beast with enormous horns. Pleased to say a sturdy fence separated us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.