La vida de Annie

By Annie

Bad news, good news.

Bad: striking health workers outside the hospital made me fear my outpatient appointment at the ortho clinic would be either cancelled or massively delayed.
Good: the waiting rooms were deserted, and I got my x-ray, a long chat with the consultant and a latte in the hospital's Costa all within 30 minutes. I'd like to order another strike for when I go back in 9 weeks please.

Bad: my leg is still broken in two places over 6 months on.
Good: today's repeat x-ray showed a teeny bit more bone growth to mend the join since 6 weeks ago.

Bad: last night I had a repeat of the bizarre visual disturbances I experienced when I had the SAH, like looking through a patterned window with frilly vignette edges, accompanied by a strange headache, not overpowering as before, but like little sharp nails being gently tapped in somewhere very deep down. Needless to say, I was very worried.
Good : the symptoms cleared up by morning, and I had a reassuring telephone chat with the outpatient neuro nurse at Walton. She said it was very early days yet, and I can expect to wait 2 years or more to start to see a return to "normal". She also said (off the record) that she had never seen anyone return to exactly how they were before the haemorrhage, but they do find ways of coming to terms with that. I'm still in the stage of physical recovery, after which the longer process of cognitive/psychological recovery will continue.

Thought I'd go with a blip of gonad shields instead of the flag-waving masses today as there will be lots of blips of the strikes, but I think I'm on fairly safe ground when I say I believe my image of the day to be unique (and just as meaningful).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.