shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Not really a globe, but hey!

This hangs on Buchanan Street, and I preferred it to any of the shots I'd taken of the Helter Skelter on my way home tonight - there was an ugly big van parked in front. Terrible, the drivers of ugly vehicles really should bear in mind photographers when picking their parking spaces ;)

A very busy day at work, though got away a little early which was nice after yesterday's long day. I was leading the church prayer meeting tonight, thinking about Russia and the student work I was involved in. Given my love for Russia it was a lot of fun, though realised in terms of the date it maybe wasn't the best day to do it - on National Day of Prayer for Scotland.

But I justified it to myself as Russia is just as entitled to prayer on St Andrew's day as Scotland is, seeing as that same man is the patron saint of Russia too! Never mind any other connections, like twinned cities, sense of humour, level of alcohol consumption... Two wonderful countries in spite of all their imperfections! One thing I loved in Russia was the way that Russians can make jokes about Russia and criticise her in any way they like, but if anyone else does: that's awful, how dare they! Bears more than a passing resemblance to the Scottish attitude to Scotland!

Happy St Andrews Day to you all, Scottish, Russian, whatever your nationality!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.