The world over - there's a birthday today

8:30pm and my Grannie will be asleep.

She sleeps a lot. It happened after a series of strokes brought in Dementia in a big way. That was six years ago.

She is looked after in permanent residential care, and today is her birthday. She's marked 84 St Andrew's Days with a birthday.

This was one of the few, if not only, in the last 32 years when I didn't get to say Happy Birthday. When I didn't get to give her a kiss and open a parcel with her. I'm sure as a sturdy toddler I was right in there helping presents be opened. I'm sure at 15 I wasn't so keen.

But in a season of over commitment on many fronts, it seems that I missed out. Sure, Grannie might not have noticed. That's the sad reality. But who really knows what goes on inside a mind locked up by such a cruel and unrelenting jailer.

Happy Birthday, Grannie. I'll see you soon. You are loved.

Happy Birthday, anyone else. I trust you were loved today.

Happy St Andrew's Day, world.

******

I had never thought this till now; I share the name of the saint who is celebrated today.

Today was a rough day at time. I was never alone though.

Today is not about me, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.