Pohutukawa Buds

The first of December and there is no better time than to introduce you to the lovely buds of New Zealand's Christmas Tree.

The Pohutukawa trees are mainly coastal and found in the North Island - they are a part of my childhood days as I remember their beautiful flowers dotted along the coastline with our glistening beaches below. I remember the big trees up to 20 metres high spreading broadly and providing shade in our picnic areas on our long summer days, where swings would hang from the short and many branched trunks with grey, deeply fissured bark that peels off in strips and many children would attempt to climb.

With living in the South Island now, I miss the blooms of this beautiful Christmas Tree but was so excited when I discovered a small patch in a domain last Christmas, which I now visit to sit under and reminisce over my childhood days.

The Pohutukawa tree flowers with profusion during the months of December and January and are an important source of nectar for our native birds and geckos.

Botanical name: Metrosideros excelsa
Maori name: Pohutukawa

I'll revisit this at a later stage and tell you a little more about New Zealand's Christmas Tree :)

A lovely day out with Mum in a coastal region, blue skies, lots of sun and a little sea breeze. We chatted and laughed over a very relaxed lunch before returning home.

Hope your all having a great week - the weekend is nearly upon us :)

PS I backblipped yesterday if your interested.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.