Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Free Range Children

After a bit of work it was time to go over to Terenure for coffee with my mate Robin. We bemoaned BBC's decision to share Formula 1 GP TV coverage with Sky beginning next season. There have been aspects of BBC coverage which have annoyed me since they got it back from ITV, but warts and all it's preferable not to have Sky involved. I have no intention whatever of subscribing to Sky just so I can watch all the races live, so I'll have to settle for highlights apart from those races which the BBC still retains.

Rather than go back home after our coffee chat I continued on to Rathfarnham and pointed the car up into the hills. I ended up in Tibradden, ran into a couple of culs de sac and found Larch Hill, which was unknown to me previously. It's a fab spot, and I spent a fair while playing with the new camera in among the tress and the flowing stream and the general sylvan atmosphere. The blip was one of the first shots I took, because the sign about 'free range children' really intrigued me.

I got back home for a spot of lunch and then headed over to Ashbourne to meet up with Rita, who'd recommended a shop there as a likely place to get a suitable present for Carl's 5-year-old niece who'll be over from France this Christmas. Derek joined Rita and me in a pleasant walk to the local shopping centre where, sure enough, I got what I hope will be an accept able Christmas present. D & R mentioned Chez Emily's, a fantastic chocolate shop on the main street in Ashbourne. We had a pleasant sit-down over a cup of coffee after I handed over more hard-earned cash for a box of home-made chocolates which will be for Carl's mum on Christmas Day.

A really enjoyable day ended up with being fed wonderfully well by Rita. Thanks D & R for a great time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.