One small speckled hen...

Two days ago our Dyson vacuum cleaner made a really horrible smell of electrical burning when Pete switched it on. We cleaned all the filters, which had got pretty filthy during all the decorating , but this didn't help and we guessed that the motor had burnt out.

Fortunately, for once in my life, I'd registered the purchase and realised it was only half way through the five year guarantee period. I rang Dyson, who were incredibly helpful and didn't even mind that I couldn't find the original receipt. They sent an engineer out this afternoon, who replaced the engine, and ordered a new filter and cyclone bucket for us, all for free! That's what I call service.

As we really needed a hoover urgently to allow me to carry on decorating, Pete and I went into town to buy a second small vacuum, that can be kept upstairs in future, avoiding the need to lug the other one up and down. The change of month has also made me realise how close Christmas is, and we actually bought a few Christmas presents too!

After a very drab, grey walk along the river with the dogs, when nothing seemed to grab my attention, it was back home to more painting. Blip desperation was setting in, but today the chickens helped me out. This is our smallest speckled hen, a bird of great character. She loves to come indoors and investigate, and looks you straight in the eye waiting for treats of mealworms and sunflower seeds. After we'd let them out today, we left the back door open for a moment too long, and found all three chickens in the kitchen waiting for treats - led by her! She's a millefeuille Dutch bantam, not much bigger than a pigeon, and very rarely lays eggs, but is very much loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.