Kite

I couldn't sleep last night. My eyes were sore and scratchy and the rain was like a thousand fingertips drumming on the window above me. I could hear my father's voice saying 'It'll be good for the garden...' I anticipated a rainy day, but woke late to a blue sky laden with cloud, so we packed a few hastily made sandwiches and headed down to the beach with doggo in tow. The girls immediately took off their shoes and socks and went careering down the sand dunes and the boys mucked about with the kite. Brammle found something nasty to roll in (oh joy) and I went down to the tideline and breathed in that sea air. Within about half an hour of being at the beach my hay fever always eases a little and I feel more like myself again. Today though, I was tired and grumpy for much of our trip (sorry guys) and stomped about feeling sorry for myself, nipping at anyone who dared approach me. The sea always lifts me, but today I think I was just too exhausted. I promise I will be a nicer person tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.